Franz Füeg (born October 31, 1921 in Solothurn; died November 24, 2019) was a Swiss architect and numismatist. He was a professor in Lausanne and is considered to be one of the most important representatives of post-war modernism in Switzerland. He is assigned to both the Solothurn School (with Alfons Barth, Hans Zaugg, Fritz Haller and Max Schlup) and the Zurich Group (with Werner Frey, Jacques Schader, Jakob Zweifel).
As a carpenter's son he worked in father's firm from 1940. After the Second World War he moved to Holland, from 1948 to 1949 he worked in Rotterdam for the brothers Evert and Herman Kraaijvanger, where he was promoted to chief architect over the course of two years within the office. The stay in the war-torn city in a large office of sixty employees, which faced completely different tasks than was the case in war-spared Switzerland, was a formative experience for Füeg. At that time he also got to know the important architects of Dutch modernism, such as Gerrit Rietveld, Cornelis van Eesteren, Jacob Berend Bakema, Johannes Hendrik van den Broek and Huig Aart Maaskant at regular meetings. In Stäuble in Solothurn he open his own office with Gérard Staub in 1953. In 1975 he moved his office to Zurich with Melchior Wyss in the 1980s. From 1958 to 1961 he was editor of the trade journal Bauen + Wohnen. After various visiting professorships in the 1960s, he was professor at EPF Lausanne from 1971 until his retirement in 1987.
All our texts and many of our images appear under the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike License (CC BY-SA). All our content is written and edited by our community.